Lavender, splash and light blue or white...

Godiva

Crowing
16 Years
May 17, 2007
Colorado
Please could someone explain to me the differences between these colours? I am brand new to this stuff and am trying to figure out which chicks are what colours etc. At about what age can you tell for sure what colour they are going to be? I have two bantam cochins chicks and when they were newly hatched they both had blue on their backs and one had some on its head. The one looks like it may be pure white while the other one has some slight hints of blue... Anyway, if you have some pics of a good example of each of these colours it would be really helpful. At what age are they feathered in their mature colour and not just the youth feathers?

I don't know much... but.....

Lavender is a blue kind of color and they are solid. Bred to another Lav. you will get ALL lav. It breeds true.

Blue is a darker blue often with lacing.

Lt. Blue is a lighter version of blue, often lacking lacing.

Splash is a blue bird with "splashes" of darker and lighter blue.

Blues can be bred to blacks.

with blue/black/splash orpingtons, if you have two blue birds you will get 50% blue, 25% black, and 25% splash chicks.
If you have one black bird, and one blue bird, you will get 50% blue, and 50% black chicks.
If you have one splash bird and one blue bird, you will get 50% splash, and 50% blue chicks.
If you have one splash bird and one black bird you will get 100% blue chicks.
And if you have two splash birds you will get 100% splash chicks.

What if the chick is mostly white with some blue colouring? Is that splash? And if it is blue with some white will that be mottled? These are cochins I am talking about if that changes anything...

I'm no expert on this... I only own one lav. chick
wink.png
LOL I'm just going based on what I've read and seen.

Hopefully one of our resident Blue Orp people will happen along with the answers....