laying egg on floor

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by mystang89, Jul 12, 2011.

1. mystang89

mystang89 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 12, 2011
    Louisville
    Hello everyone. This is my first post and also I am completely new to raising chickens. I have a 4' x 8' x 6 1/2' chicken coop. There are 3 nesting bens all 13" x 13" x 13". Next to the nesting area I have a "ladder" that is about 4' tall and 2' wide. I have it leaning up against the wall as any ladder would be. I figured they would use that for their roosting. On the right side of the coop I have their little door/ramp so they can come in. I have 5 chickens, all White Leghorns. I just got them today and was told they were 18 weeks old or so.
    Nooooow my problem. I went in tonight, around 10:30pm, to check on them. I wanted to see if they were roosting on the ladder or not. They aren't. They are all cuddled in the corner next to their little door/ramp. MMMkkk, so they don't like my ladder, fair enough, but then after I made them move I found they are also laying eggs on the floor in that spot. Not cool. I made a nesting area for a reason. I'm lazy and don't want go into the chicken coop area, which is completely covered so I would have to bend down all the way to the coop. I made a trap door in the back where I can just open it and take my eggs. When they are on the floor laying I'm less than happy. Please help. Thank you.

2. nanawendy

nanawendy Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 28, 2009
    Bellingham Wa
    Try putting some golf balls or wooden eggs in the nests. I had to "walk "my first flock up the ramp ..." this is were you go to...." They finally got it. Welcome [​IMG]

3. sharol

sharol Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 13, 2010
    Admire, KS
    Welcome to the world of chickens and BYC.