Laying eggs in coop question

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by nvchicken, Sep 11, 2016.

1. nvchicken

nvchicken New Egg

Sep 11, 2016
    I'm new to chickens and currently have 4 hens that are almost 4 months old. They sleep in a 4'x4' coop with a small door and have access to a 16'x8' run during the day. The coop is fairly small and they are ready to get out in the morning. My question is, if I put nesting boxes in the coop will they go back in there during the day to lay eggs? I never see them in the coop during the day, they only go in right before dark. I don't want them laying in the run if possible. Would it be better to put my nesting boxes in a back corner of the run? Thanks!

2. Dmontgomery

Dmontgomery Chillin' With My Peeps Premium Member

Apr 1, 2014
    Longville, La
    They will probably want to go back in the coop to lay, so I think you need a couple nesting boxes. Typically they prefer a dark secluded spot where they can be private and feel their eggs will be safe. Make sure you place them where it will be easy for you to collect the eggs.
    If you don't think you have room in the coop, box in a little area in the run, but near the coop where they can nest. They really don't mind laying directly on the ground.

3. Heidi65

Heidi65 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 15, 2015
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    My Coop
    Our chicken coops are in our dog run. We have 1/2 an acre and the dog run is pretty good size. During the grasshopper season, like now, when we let the girls out into the main part of the back yard if they haven't laid their egg for the day you will see them do their funny little run across the yard into the dog run, into their run, into their coop to their nesting box. It is the funniest sight to see.

If one is in the nesting box when we let them out, you will hear them sing their little song and then the reverse happens.

4. lissalischicks

lissalischicks Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 31, 2016
    Los Angeles, California