Laying eggs over fall/winter?

Nimure

Songster
Nov 11, 2019
OH
Hiya friends,

So my hen welshie just started laying. It’s currently a very solid fall here in the midwest and I’m not entirely sure what to do. These are her first eggs. I’d like her to go broody and hatch out babies, but I’m thinking this is a poor time of year for her to be doing that. If I take the eggs away now and then start leaving them in the spring will she still want to sit? Or should I give her the option now even if it doesn’t pan out?

I’ve never done this before so I could use some advice.

Edited to add:

Any idea if this egg is fertile? I see a circle but not quite the bullseye I was expecting.
B479560D-5DDC-42EF-AA7D-AE2499C6BD96.jpeg

43805FEA-34CB-4A77-A505-886FBFB8C620.jpeg

I'm in sort of the same boat as you but I won't get the extreme temperature shift in Florida as you will.

My Muscovy hen is currently laying her first clutch (22 eggs so far) and I am going to let her incubate her first batch. She is not comittedly sitting yet but she is definitely pre-broody (warning squeaks, tucking head, fluffing her feathers up, and spending more time on the nest at night)
20221016_090936.jpg

It's really going to be up to you on what you want to allow. Don't worry about the possibility of next time because it's hormonal/natural for them to want to hatch their brood, so you won't break her maternal instinct permanently.

I was the silly person that went and incubated eggs in late summer. I currently have three ducklings under a month old that will need to spend the winter inside.

As Isadora said, collect the eggs for now whether fertile or not (I'm not good at telling the bullseye yet, so can't comment on yours), or be prepared to have ducklings living in the house and stinking it up! :D

ProudRedneck is correct, once the hormones hit she'll sit for you. Remember that not all ducks go broody though.