1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Laying Season, what's the deal?

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by KARy408, Aug 21, 2014.

1. KARy408

KARy408 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 18, 2014
    Livermore, CA
    I'm new to poultry in general and my husband and I decided to start with Ducks instead of Chickens, as they seemed easier, friendlier and more useful overall. Our main purpose for keeping them is for the eggs, so we decided to start with 4 Pekin girls. We got them as hatchlings, and now finally, 24 weeks later we're starting to get eggs!

In my research, the books & websites I've read and several posts I've seen here, I've often seen reference to the "Laying Season" when discussing duck keeping, feed, light requirements and what-not. However, I have not been able to find any literature describing when exactly that season is and/or how it applies to the different breed types. So my question is, what's the deal here? Is there really a laying season and how important is it to follow?

I know Pekins are typically kept as meat birds, but we chose them for their temperament, flightlessness and prolific laying. But I haven't been able to find out if a Pekin will lay all year round (except during the molt). Do I need to give my girls a break? If there is a season, then I'm assuming we're nearing the end of it now, so am I doing my girls damage by promoting them to start laying this late? It seems a lot of others around here are just starting now as well. For the life of me, I can't figure out why there isn't more info on this topic. It seems important, but maybe I'm just overthinking things? Any insight would be appreciated!

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England