Leave an egg: yes or no?

Hollyjane

Hatching
9 Years
Sep 7, 2010
I may have a stupid question, but as an amateur, I'd still like to know the answer. Background: Our coop is now too small for our girls (we intend to upgrade as soon as is financially possible). There's no rooster, and everyone appears to be well, and get along just fine. We built them a side-by-side pair of nest boxes when we saw the first eggs pop-up in the coop. They seem to all be using one of those two nests, and don't seem to produce fewer eggs if we take all of them every day. They did, however, produce fewer eggs today than yesterday, after I left an egg (intentionally) to see whether they'd lay more if I left them something to build on. On the other hand, I was sick and laid-up in bed all day, and my husband failed to feed them and freshen their water in my stead. I don't know what, if any, effect this had on my girls; these are just the facts I see at hand. Still, my mom insists that her grandma always left an egg in the nest, supposedly to stimulate (or maintain) egg production.

What is your opinion on this matter? Do your hens seem to lay more eggs when an egg (or egg stand-in) is left in the nest? Or is it just an "old wives' tale" that was loosely based on the practice of leaving an egg behind in order to condition the hen to lay in that nest habitually? And, do your hens ever reject a nest if they catch you in the act of stealing their eggs?

Thanks!

Holly

I love chickens but hens really aren't very smart.
wink.png
They can't count and don't care if you leave an egg or not. It is handy to either leave an egg in the nest box or put in a wooden egg to teach them where to lay until they learn to use the nest box, but it will not affect the amount of eggs they lay.
I've always heard that story too, so I tried it both ways to see for myself. No difference that I could tell with mature hens.