leaving the light on 24x7?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by aharriso, Dec 22, 2011.

1. aharriso

aharriso Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 13, 2010
    Raleigh, NC
    Hello,

I am new to owning chickens. My chicks are 8 weeks old and have been in their henhouse for 4 weeks. I put a brooder light in the house to help keep them warm as the temperatures have been ranging from 30 - 50 degrees at night over the last month - I live in NC. I have been leaving the light on 24x7 to make sure they have some source of warmth but now I am wondering if there is any problem with this? They have just learned to roost - all 5 of them were up on the roost bar huddled together when I checked on them last night (so sweet). Up to this point they have been huddling in their bedding under the light.

Is it ok to keep the light on all night or do I need to do something different?

Thanks for any advice!
    Ann

2. howfunkyisurchicken

howfunkyisurchicken Overrun With Chickens

Apr 11, 2011
    Tn
    The only problem I've ever had with leaving a light on 24/7 is picking. They have all that extra time to get bored and start pecking each other. My grandfather always told me he never put lights on his layers because it made them "burn out" faster. I'm not sure how much truth there is to that, but it kind of made sense to me so I've never left a light on my birds outside the brooder. At 8 weeks old, I would think your chicks would have all the necessary feathers to keep themselves warm. Good luck!

3. Capvin

Capvin Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2011
    Lake Placid, FL