LEGHORNS

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by tippyshorses, Feb 7, 2013.

1. tippyshorses

tippyshorses New Egg

Feb 7, 2013
    Hi, I am new to the forum, and I am also new to raising chickens. My dad has always had chickens and I would love to try my hand at it. I am looking for any kind of Leghorn chickens anywhere from 4 weeks old and up. I would also be interested in some ISA BROWNS. I am located in central kentucky, if anyone has any for sale or knows of anyone who has any for sale anywhere in this direction I would appreciate the info. I would be willing to travel a ways also to get them. Thank you

2. loanwizard

loanwizard Chillin' With My Peeps

Might want to check out your area and make sure there is a market for white farm eggs. In my area they are determined to be inferior eggs, not that they are, but because they look like store bought, people think they are.
    Leghorns lay white eggs.
    Whatever you decide,
    Welcome!

3. tippyshorses

tippyshorses New Egg

Feb 7, 2013
    thank you, but actually the leghorns would be for me, because I prefer the white eggs, and the ISA BROWNS are for my two youngest boys, they love to eat the brown eggs. It is just so hard to find any leghorns where I am from, I guess because most people do prefer the brown eggs. I was hoping maybe someone out there would have some for sale, but I may end up having to order some. thank you for your help.

4. gmabry75

gmabry75 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 27, 2013
    Brandon, MS
    I would ask in the Kentucky thread. Probably get help from some local people on here. What breed you want is your decision, but is there any difference in white and brown eggs other than the color of the shell. I'm new to chickens myself. Welcome to BYC.

5. tippyshorses

tippyshorses New Egg

Feb 7, 2013