Less than week old chick looks up for food and pecks other chicks

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by speckled6, Apr 16, 2017.

1. speckled6

speckled6 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2017
    Southwest WI
    Hi all,
    I am brand new to chicks. I have a mixed flock. One of my barred rocks is the runt and we can't get her to look down for food.
    She walks around, literally through the soft mash (chick starter mixed w/water and probiotics) to peck at other chicks like she's trying to get crumbs off their down or feathers.
    We've isolated her and tried to show her where the food/water is, but she just won't eat it.
    I got her a chick stick to hang in her box yesterday and she pecked at that/eating for a long time, but she seems to try to peck as high as she can to get food. She will stand and stretch as far as she can and pecks at it towards the top.
    She's not blind as she will peck at the lighter spots or bits of pine shavings on the other chicks.
    Any thoughts on how to help out little girl learn to eat is much appreciated.
    Some info that may be helpful:
    She hatched on 4/11/17
    She is 1 of 7 chicks that we added to the other 16 we had that hatched the day before. (Original flock is from Meyer, shipped to us, the others including our runt came from a store in a nearby town)
    Thanks in advance for any help anyone can offer.

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio