1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Lethargic and one eye shut

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by CaptainCtza, Aug 18, 2016.

1. CaptainCtza

CaptainCtza Just Hatched

Aug 18, 2016
    Scotland
    Hello! This is Robin
    I'm new to BackYard Chickens community and also new to chickens as well.
    I have bought 25 broiler chicks like a month ago. And I kept them in my apartment for the past 3-and-half weeks. Then I have moved them to the roof which is a bit colder as they made the home here quite smelly. Today, I've noticed that one of them is become very lethargic and one of her eyes is completely shut. I'm always having antibiotics put properly in water. How should I treat her? Should I take her away from the other chickens? Have the room temperature nothing to do with that? (They are completely feathered)

2. CaptainCtza

CaptainCtza Just Hatched

Aug 18, 2016
    Scotland
    Nobody is giving me attention tho

3. Wyorp Rock

Wyorp Rock Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Sep 20, 2015
    Southern N.C. Mountains
    Welcome to BYC.

How large of a space are you housing them in?
    What type of feed do you give?
    What antibiotics are you always having in their water?
    Can you post some photos?
    Is she eating/drinking?

It could be a number of things.

If she is fluffed up, lethargic and weak then it could be cocci.
    Do you have any Corid?

4. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio