Lethargic chicken looks drunk

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Vincent StLouis, Feb 24, 2012.

1. Vincent StLouis

Vincent StLouis New Egg

Feb 24, 2012
    I am new to chickens, we have three chickens that are free range on big back yard. We live in Northern Cal. it has been a very mild winter. One of the chickens started looking a little different. About 3 days ago I noticed white stuff on back end like she pooped on her self. Yesterday she was lethargic and not with the other chickens, today she is a lot worst. She walks a little but looks drunk falls over sometimes but mostly lays around in one spot. When she is standing her tail is up and head is down I can see her underside seems to be contracting but it seems to be lower then the vent area she seems thin also. Any Idea what could be wrong? We are soaking her in worm water to see if it is a stuck egg. I did insert my finger but I don't feel anything but I don't know how far a egg would be. Any way I think I have covered as much as I can think of. Please help her. Thank you Vincent

2. MakNat

MakNat Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 19, 2008
    Ky
    This will be no help, but I've had that happen as well. Just out of the blue. I've researched it to death and the symptom search has always come back to either, eggbound, very wormy, Mareks or New Castle. Never thought it could've been any of these with mine. Put her in a warm place alone with some vitamin water and maybe some cooked egg yolk and cat food, anything high protein. I hope you have good luck with her. Most will tell you , you will never know unless you get a necropsy. Fingers crossed she gets better quick!!!!!

3. Vincent StLouis

Vincent StLouis New Egg

Feb 24, 2012
    Thank you MakNat I have done the same research and found same either, eggbound, very wormy, Mareks or New Castle
    she is inside very wobbly but eating a little. Got some antibiotics. hope she gets better

4. MakNat

MakNat Chillin' With My Peeps