Lethargic Day Old RIR - What can I do to help?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by MegC, Dec 28, 2016.

1. MegC

MegC Out Of The Brooder

Dec 10, 2016
    South Carolina
    Hi-
    I'm looking for some advice. I just brought home my chicks yesterday, and all but one seem to be very active - eating, drinking, and pooping. One of the little RIRs is acting very lethargic, won't move, won't eat or drink, and looks kind of like she's panting. The other chicks are going out of their way to run over and peck this one. I tried mashing up the yolk from a hard boiled egg and mixing with chick starter like I read in a forum here, but this little chick wouldn't eat it. She's been acting this way and hasn't wanted to open her eyes much since last night. What can I do to help this little chick survive?

This is my first time raising baby chicks, so I'm unsure of what to do. Thanks!

Last edited: Dec 28, 2016
  2. FoodFreedomNow

FoodFreedomNow Chillin' With My Peeps

I'd try to get some fluids, preferably with electrolytes in it, into the chick ASAP. You may need to feed her with a dropper (carefully, to avoid aspiration). Panting suggests she may be too hot - is the brooder temperature right? The other thing I'd do is check and make sure her vent isn't pasted shut, as that can be fatal if not treated quickly.

Tagging @casportpony for additional input. Hope your chick feels better soon.

3. azygous

azygous Chicken Obsessed

Dec 11, 2009
    Colorado Rockies
    You most likely have a 'failure-to-thrive" baby. Be prepared. It may not make it. Genetic defects are probably preventing it from absorbing nutrients. It won't eat because it's weak.

Get some Poultry Nitri-drench. Give it a straight shot with the dropper along side its beak. Try to get some inside its mouth without making it aspirate.