Lethargic hen - not egg bound?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by SycolinWoodsChickens, Nov 9, 2010.

1. SycolinWoodsChickens

SycolinWoodsChickens Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2010
    Northern Virginia
    I'm new to chicken keeping and all my chickens are 30 weeks old. Most have been laying for the last month. For the last few days I 've noticed one of my Speckled Sussex seems a little sleepy and slow. Today when they were free ranging she was standing under a bush with her eyes closed and head drooped down. Then she looked like she was trying to lay - you know the egg trance look - then just back to sleepy. I kept an eye on her and she perked back up but stayed away from everyone else.

It almost looked like she was trying to lay and couldn't. So I've taken her in the house and as far as I can tell she is not egg bound. I don't see or feel an egg. I tried putting a warm washcloth on her vent and for a while I could see her tail moving but that has stopped and still no egg.

If I offer her food she eats but she is kind of falling asleep standing in her cage.

No eye discharge, or sneezing, no runny poo as far as I can tell (that's one reason why I took her in the house was to see if she had any poo issues).

Any ideas?

2. chkn

chkn Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 27, 2010