Lethargic hen with goopy, poopy butt

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by RachelJoy, Mar 17, 2012.

1. RachelJoy

RachelJoy Out Of The Brooder

Apr 15, 2009
    I have a 3 year old silver laced wyandotte who is not doing well. She hates to be handled, so I was surprised that she let me come right up and stroke her today. She's lying in the sun, I thought enjoying this beautiful day. Then I noticed her butt is incredibly poopy, and kind of oozing and dripping some gelatinous looking poop (a lovely description, I know). I picked her up and put her down on her feet and she kind of flopped down on her belly again.

She ate the oatmeal I had brought out as a treat, and she's drinking water (she's hanging out right next to a water bowl).

I don't even know what to look up to try to figure out what is wrong and what I should do. Any thoughts?

2. DawnCols

DawnCols Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 17, 2010
    Sorry to hear it.

I'm no expert in chickens, but I am a nurse and I did deal with a chicken with a poopy butt this winter. At first I noticed she seemed to be accumulating poop on her butt. When she started getting lethargic, I got worried so I gave her a bath. I used a big rubbermaid tub, filled it 2/3 full of warm water and I set her in there. After she soaked awhile, I used rubber gloves to check that the stuff had come off, took her out wrapped in a towel and dried her off, left her in a warm spot overnight. She obviously felt much better after and went back to her perky self.

It was middle of winter so I did all this indoors--but I'm guessing you could do it outdoors in the nice weather, so I'm not including all the details of how I dealt with doing this indoors.

The gelatinous-looking stuff doesn't sound good though. Makes me wonder if she's got a broken egg inside her or some kind of infection.