Lethargic Hen

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by High Prairie, Dec 20, 2016.

1. High Prairie

High Prairie Just Hatched

Jul 6, 2016
    Kansas
    I've noticed that Kate has seemed a little out of sorts the past couple of days ... withdrawn, puffed up, not active. It was bitterly cold so I chalked it up to that until this morning. When I opened up the coop, she was still up on the perch all puffed up and sleepy. I set her down in the run so she could get some water, and she drank quite a bit. Then she slowly walked back toward the coop, passing up all the food. She ended up standing in the straw under the nest boxes looking generally miserable. I brought her in to see if she would perk up with a little warmth. She hasn't. She is drinking a ton of water but has no interest in feed, sunflower seeds, or scrambled egg. She's lost some feathers in the dog kennel so I wonder if she's molting. I'm new to chickens and didn't notice any of the 9 I have going through any major molts in the Fall. She's not sneezing or showing signs of respiratory distress. I saw her lay an egg yesterday. It was normal sized but had a thin shell. I chalked that up to this bitter cold because all other eggs have been normal. I haven't changed feed or their access to oyster shell. I'm going to return her to the flock and see how it goes. I'm attaching pics of her demeanor, her feathers (in case it's molt), and her most recent droppings. I'm a rookie and appreciate any suggestions.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. High Prairie

Jul 6, 2016
    Kansas
    I wanted to add that she looked really rough when we got her and four others back in August. Her neck was totally bald, and her feathers were dull and washed out. But with good feed, worming, lice treatment, and love she's come to look much better these past few months until now, when she's just not being her normal, hungry, curious self.

3. High Prairie

Jul 6, 2016
    Kansas