Lethargic, puffed up, head twitching hen, wondering whether to cull...

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by anorthup, Jan 23, 2017.

1. anorthup

anorthup New Egg

Jan 21, 2017
    Hi All,

I'm new here (though I've been stalking the site for a few years now) and I'm hoping you hen gurus can offer some advice. One of our hens - she was given to us by a friend about 4 months ago, is very ill. She is an approximately one year old Australorp laying hen who, for the past 3-4 days has been extremely lethargic, puffed up feathers and roach backed, with her head pulled in and twitching. She started out walking aimlessly around the coop, but now she can barely walk and seems to fall over when she tries.

Admittedly our coop conditions have not been ideal as I just had a baby and had a very dangerous pregnancy. Now that I'm back out there, I've noticed the coop has what seem to be lice, but otherwise is quite clean. This is the only hen affected out of our 13 member flock. We thought she may be egg bound so gave a calcium injection, and warm baths - though no egg is visible or palpable we know we have one that lays softies on occasion so thought it might be her?? Otherwise I am at a loss as to what is wrong with her and I can't stand to see her suffer. She is not breathing heavily, has no discharge from her eyes or nose, is still drinking - but not eating, and her crop feels fine. She is obviously suffering and uncomfortable but I don't want to dispatch her if there is a simple solution I am just missing. With my google sleuthing I am thinking it may be egg peritonitis, but my husband is not willing to spend money on "just a hen" and won't allow me to take her to the vet. Does anyone have any suggestions for me that could help? What do you use for electrolytes for the water? Is there anything I can do to make her more comfortable if we wait it out a few more days? Thank you in advance for any help anyone can give!

Ashley