1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Lethargic pullet

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by GranolaGirl, Sep 29, 2010.

1. GranolaGirl

GranolaGirl Out Of The Brooder

Sep 25, 2010
    Creedmoor
    I have a pullet that has been acting "sleepy" and has been sleeping on the floor of the coop. Any ideas? I am new to raising chickens

2. SimplySplendidSilkies

SimplySplendidSilkies Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2010
    Adairsville, GA
    Can you try to answer some of the question it will help others to help you, it is hard to help without some more information.

Give us the following information. The more you tell us, the better we will be able to help you.

1) What type of bird , age and weight.
    2) What is the behavior, exactly.
    3) How long has the bird been exhibiting symptoms?
    4) Are other birds exhibiting the same symptoms?
    5) Is there any bleeding, injury, broken bones or other sign of trauma.
    6) What happened, if anything that you know of, that may have caused the situation.
    7) What has the bird been eating and drinking, if at all.
    8) How does the poop look? Normal? Bloody? Runny? etc.
    9) What has been the treatment you have administered so far?
    10 ) What is your intent as far as treatment? For example, do you want to treat completely yourself, or do you need help in stabilizing the bird til you can get to a vet?
    11) If you have a picture of the wound or condition, please post it. It may help.
    12) Describe the housing/bedding in use

[​IMG] You will find lots of answers to just about everything. It is the college of chicken raising IMO!

3. GranolaGirl

Sep 25, 2010
    Creedmoor
    1) What type of bird , age and weight.
    Lakenfelder pullet 11 weeks