LG to take out the red plugs or leave them in

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by critterrun, Nov 22, 2011.

1. critterrun

critterrun Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 6, 2011
    NJ
    Hello newbie here

I called LG they said to never take out the plugs (red)

I just read somewhere to always take out the plugs

Help cofused again

in or out or 1/2 and 1/2 or sometimes [​IMG]

2. anderson8505

anderson8505 Peace, Love & Happy Chickens

Huh. Why would they include plugs in their design if you're not supposed to take them out??? [​IMG]

3. cmom

cmom Hilltop Farm

Nov 18, 2007
    Florida
    My Coop
    The plugs stay in during incubation but when you set the eggs for hatching take the red plugs out. The eggs need the added air flow.

4. billiejo21

billiejo21 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2011
    Iowa
    My plugs are never in. The eggs need the oxygen. I read somewhere that if you are having trouble with your humidity, to cover them halfway with tape, but I haven't had that issue. The plugs are there to put in and out to help control your temps and humidity...so the fact they told you to never take them out seems a bit ridiculous!

Edited to add: I'm sure everyone does things differently, but this has worked for me! I don't think their is any right or wrong answer, but I can tell you that the chicks and eggs need airflow, that's why they have to holes in the incubator!!!

Last edited: Nov 22, 2011
  5. TinyChickenLady

TinyChickenLady Chillin' With My Peeps

Quote:I have an LG and that's pretty much what I do, too. It helps me control the temp and humidity. Start with them in. Check the temps and humidity and if they're not where you want them to be, then take out a plug and check back later. Repeat instructions until everything is where you want it to be.
    And I do take at least one out during lockdown because the humidity will jump too high when they start hatching.

6. cmom

cmom Hilltop Farm

Nov 18, 2007
    Florida
    My Coop