Life with a special needs child

Discussion in 'Family Life - Stories, Pictures & Updates' started by nikki1, Nov 8, 2011.

1. nikki1

nikki1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2011
    Eatonville, WA
    Hi, all. A trying day, and I'm in need of encouragement.

My husband and I have a 7-year-old son we adopted at birth. He is our AD/HD poster child, likely with some fetal alcohol effects, too. He is a fabulous boy, and the absolute center of our life. He is curious, smart, enthusiastic, and loving. In many ways his AD/HD can be an asset. Lord knows, I wish I had his energy!

The problem is that some days his energy is, well, misdirected. Today was like having a blender without a lid. I won't go into details, but suffice it to say his teacher was run ragged, he got very lippy with the recess lady, and I personally sent him to see the principal. (I'm a teacher at the school, so I made a command decision.) At home he was simply coming out of his skin. We are just exhausted tonight.

Tomorrow is another day. His behavior is wildly different from one day to the next, so we'll pray for a better one tomorrow.

Anyone else out there parenting a wonderful, darling, adorable, frustrating special needs child?

--Nikki

2. b.hromada

b.hromada Flock Mistress

I haven't experienced this, but [​IMG]. I pray tomorrow brings you a much easier day.

3. LiLRedCV

LiLRedCV Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 25, 2010
    Land of the Rain
    Hi Nikki!

[​IMG]

I live in rural Eatonville... WES

My oldest was ADHD, so I can totally relate! When he was 3yrs old, he threw such a temper tantrum that he dislocated my right arm at the shoulder. Ripped it so bad that 30 days later, I had to have surgery on it to keep it in place as it kept slipping out of socket just closing a kitchen cabinet door. When he became a teenager, it was like a switch was flipped and we ended up with a different child. He went from being extremely hyper to a virtual slug by comparison. He's 25yrs old now and doing well.