Light and Being Alone Questions

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by MrsDolittleDuck, Jul 31, 2013.

1. MrsDolittleDuck

MrsDolittleDuck Out Of The Brooder

Jul 29, 2013
    Tennessee
    Hi Everyone,
    I am really new at having a duck. I have found a new friend. I have had her for 6 days now. She is a Pekin Duck. She just showed up in my yard, and now she seems to be my best friend. She already follows me every where. This is the first time I have had a duck. I just keep reading and reading all about ducks and learning that way. I am having so much fun with her. She is so cute. I names her Miss Daisy. (of course). She is living like a queen. I guess my questions are,
    is she lonely because she is by herself? No other duck to keep her company? I don't want to be making her depressed or harm her being by herself. I really don't want to get another duck. One is enough. One is perfect. I also have 3 dogs and 3 cats, so I have enough animals for now. Also I was reading about their eye site. I learned they can see color, and don't see that well at night, but I want to know if I should leave a light on at night for her? I made a house for her on my front porch just for night time. I live on a mountain in TN where there is alot of animals who would probably want to eat her, so I have her on the porch nice and safe. No one or thing can get her. I have been leaving the porch light on for her. Do I need to do that? I would appreciate any info y'all would have for me.
    Glad to see this forum. I need all the help I can get.
    Thanks.

2. Whittni

Whittni Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Southern Utah
    She needs a friend no matter what. That could be another duck or two. She also needs a pool of water and coop to sleep in and a pen to keep predators from getting her. Ducks prefer to be in trios.

Welcome to BYC!

3. MrsDolittleDuck

MrsDolittleDuck Out Of The Brooder

Jul 29, 2013
    Tennessee