Light Brahmas - Hens or Roosters

lilmstw72

In the Brooder
9 Years
Sep 4, 2010
Mid-Michigan
I'm new to raising chickens and in April we purchased 6 chicks from a local feed store. My brahmas are about 20-21wks old now. They were supposed to all be hens (95%). About a month ago one dominant rooster made his presence obvious and once he was starting to be pretty aggressive with my hens I decided to find him a new home. The very next morning I had a new rooster starting to crow. Apparently he was just waiting for rooster #1 to move out. Ugh... now I'm looking at the remaining 5 and wondering how many more roosters I have. We have just started getting eggs so I know I have at least 1 hen.
smile.png

By looking at the attached photos, can you tell how many are roosters vs hens.

Thanks so much!

One rooster/one hen?:
67088_090100_153300.jpg

Another rooster?:
67088_090100_153202.jpg

Pretty sure this is a hen:
67088_090100_153201.jpg

Unsure:
67088_090100_153200.jpg

Obvious rooster that is in charge currently:
67088_090100_153301.jpg

Last edited:
Quote:
The picture just above the 'unsure' one is a hen so maybe this is my only other hen. Keeping my fingers crossed that I have 2 hens. Based on most comments, it sounds like I have 4 roos and only 1 hen. Poor girl... I don't know if I should just wait til spring to get more. Maybe I should try to hatch some. Either way, I'll be down to 2 or 3 soon.

I do love the look of this breed and would like to get some other colors in the same breed.

Thanks for all the replies.

Quote:
The picture just above the 'unsure' one is a hen so maybe this is my only other hen. Keeping my fingers crossed that I have 2 hens. Based on most comments, it sounds like I have 4 roos and only 1 hen. Poor girl... I don't know if I should just wait til spring to get more. Maybe I should try to hatch some. Either way, I'll be down to 2 or 3 soon.

I do love the look of this breed and would like to get some other colors in the same breed.