Light on timer?

rrector2005

Hatching
Jan 26, 2015
North Carolina
Hello everyone, I am new to the chicken community. I purchased 10- 3 week old Barred Rocks yesterday here locally. I am currently brooding them in a spare room of my home using a heat lamp(250w). I just ordered a EcoGlo heater to get away from using a heat lamp 24/7. My question is, do I need to buy a red light bulb (non heat) and put it on a timer for my chicks? The room stays fairly dark trough out the day. Also, any other advice will be helpful.
Thanks in advance!

A 250 watt bulb will create a lot of heat indoors. They can move away from it if it were uncomfortable hot, so a 125 watt would be just as useful. Drastic temp changes can be stressful. The red bulb creates just as much heat obviously, but is easier on their eyes. If you heat the room, any light should be fine. The lights in my coop are on from early am to just before dark. The natural light tells them its time to roost as the sun goes down. That way they aren't left in the pitch dark from a timer switching off. Hope this helps!
smile.png

Hello everyone, I am new to the chicken community. I purchased 10- 3 week old Barred Rocks yesterday here locally. I am currently brooding them in a spare room of my home using a heat lamp(250w). I just ordered a EcoGlo heater to get away from using a heat lamp 24/7. My question is, do I need to buy a red light bulb (non heat) and put it on a timer for my chicks? The room stays fairly dark trough out the day. Also, any other advice will be helpful.
Thanks in advance!
You'll love the heat plate, so much quieter at night after they settle down.
They do need light as george mentions.....
You might want to turn it off before sundown so they settle down to sleep with the natural sunset, that's what I did and it worked well. Left the white light on most the day then shut if off before sunset.