Lighting coop to induce egg laying?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by 5acresandadream, Oct 31, 2016.

1. 5acresandadream

5acresandadream Out Of The Brooder

Oct 31, 2016
    North Eastern USA
    Hi! Newbie here :) I have a question about using artificial light to get my hens to lay. My hens include a few barnyard mutts I hatched out of neighbors eggs this past April, a barred rock hen we found in the work parking lot ( long story lol) and 3 white leghorn hens. My rooster is a gentle buff orphington. The young mutts haven't started laying yet, and my leghorns completely stopped a few weeks ago (they went through a move, they were my mothers and they stopped laying so she didn't want them anymore). Today is day 8 of having a light in my coop, its on a timer and they are getting 18 hours of light a day, because I read in a different thread that is what they should get if they aren't laying. My question is, how long should it take for them to start laying with the help of the lighting? So that I can know if the lighting is the issue or if I have to try something else.

2. N F C

N F C doo be doo be doo Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    [​IMG]

It sounds like your girls have had to move around a bit...chickens don't adapt to changes quickly so give them time to re-settle. Can you give us an idea of what you are feeding your flock? Have your older girls been molting? Is everyone in good health?

There could be reasons other than fewer daylight hours that has caused your older girls to stop laying is what I'm trying to get at. As long as everyone is healthy, I wouldn't be too concerned. Personally, I never used artificial light in our coop...I figure they work hard almost all year long and deserve a rest and they'll lay when they are ready to lay.

Thanks for joining us!

3. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas