LIGHTING........what is the purposse of red and/or blue bulbs???

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by LittleMamaBigPapa, May 8, 2009.

1. LittleMamaBigPapa

LittleMamaBigPapa Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2009
    Bellevue, Nebraska
    I am currently just using a 125 watt white heat bulb. Do I need to be using a colored bulb? I have had my BOs for 1 week as of today. The temp at the bottom of the brooder (just below the light) is 96.5. Is this a good temp??? They seem to be just fine. I just dont know when I should decrease temp and by how much.

Thank you!!
    [​IMG]

2. artsyrobin

artsyrobin Artful Wings

Mar 1, 2009
    Muskogee OK
    the reason for a colored bulb is it decreases the risk of them pecking each other- i am new to this,and that is what was told me- i just love my BO gals!

3. antlers

antlers Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2008
    East Cent Minnesota
    Post above is correct on the color usage. On temps, recommended is start at 9-95 and decrease 5 degrees a week. That said, watch your birds. If they spend a lot of time right under the light they likely are too cool. Hardly ever go under it? Likely too warm. They should use the whol box equally. They will tell you wnat they want if you can observe and read the signs.

Last edited: May 8, 2009
  4. Davaroo

Davaroo Poultry Crank

Feb 4, 2007
    Leesville, SC
    Quote:This is, in the main, correct.

The red infrared heat lamps are soothing compared to the harsh glaring light of incasdescent lamps. This makes for a calm and relaxing brooder. Use of red lamps also helps decrease the eating of litter among chicks.

These lamps have a focused output, too, with a wide range of adjustment. I use a dimmer cord with mine and then I can lower or raise the output as desired.