Lil' Red' is odd hen out ; (

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by QuilBillie, Feb 25, 2014.

1. QuilBillie

QuilBillie Just Hatched

Feb 8, 2014
    [​IMG]

I am a newbie chicken owner. I Was raised as a kid on mini-farm, chickens, ducks, goats, horses, pigs etc. but Mom took care of everything, and I guess I didn't pay attention, had too much fun gathering eggs and throwing scratch !

I recently acquired some property and for the first time in my adult life I can have MY OWN mini-farm. Mom has passed now, so can't ask her questions on how to manage things.

I have a flock of 7 hens, 1 Barred Rock, 3 Ameracuanas , 1 silver laced Wyandotte, 1 Black Australorp, and 1 Rhode Island Red. All have gotten along OK .... till now. I recently introduced a Rooster to the Hens, he is a silver laced Wyandotte. Everyone seemed to accept him OK except my Lil' Red Rhodie. She IS the smallest, youngest of the hens. I notice now she does not socialize much with the other hens anymore and she has a tendency to hide and keep to herself. She does seem to be eating and drinking, but I've noticed her feathers laying around the coop (not a lot) but enough to notice they ARE hers. I haven't noticed anyone picking on her (in my presence) but she seems afraid of the others. She is not old enough to lay yet (don't think she is anyway) I acquired entire flock (minus the Rooster) from same place, so they all have been together since they were chicks. They are all just under a year old (I think) person I got them from said they would be old enough to lay in about 2-3 months. I've had them for 1 month. The Ameracaunas and Wyandotte are the largest/eldest and have been laying me eggs most every day.

Should I be concerned for Lil' Red?? Is this just a natural 'pecking' order behavior? Is there anything I can do to help her be 'accepted' and for the others to 'play nice' ? Feel bad for Lil' Red being the 'odd hen out'

2. LRH97

LRH97 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 29, 2013