1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Lime or DE?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by apostoliclady, May 3, 2009.

1. apostoliclady

apostoliclady Out Of The Brooder

May 3, 2009
    Wilmington, NC
    I'm VERY new to the chicken world. I've brought home 12 chicks last week. I'm getting the hen house ready for them. I keep reading on here about DE. I went to the feed store where I bought the chicks, but they don't carry it. She suggested lime. Any feedback on that?

2. xtremevermonter

xtremevermonter Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2009
    Bradford, VT
    What are you using the DE/ lime for?

3. apostoliclady

May 3, 2009
    Wilmington, NC
    LOL. I'm not sure. According to this web site, it suggests using it for mites and oder control, I think [​IMG]

4. xtremevermonter

May 3, 2009
    Bradford, VT
    Do you really need it then? [​IMG]

5. apostoliclady

May 3, 2009
    Wilmington, NC
    LOL. Maybe not. I'm trying so hard to be prepared. I'd like to be successful at this. So far, I have 6 day experience with chickens...so far, so good [​IMG]

6. xtremevermonter

May 3, 2009
    Bradford, VT
    I use lime sometimes in my alpaca barn to keep the animals from doing their business in the same spot. It masks the odor and encourages them to go outside. I'm not sure if it works like this with chicksens.

Is odor going to be a problem for you? Is the coop near your home or something like that?

Also, if mites become a problem, there are mite-specific powders you can dust on your chickens.

7. jamieneenah

jamieneenah Chillin' With My Peeps

May 2, 2009