Limp Leg Hen

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by cparr73, Nov 20, 2016.

1. cparr73

cparr73 Just Hatched

Nov 20, 2016
    Hello, I am new to chickens and I have 6 hens that are about 6 months old now, none are laying yet. I am in Colorado and we had snow the other day, temps got down to about 23 degrees. I noticed yesterday that my Americauna was having trouble using her right leg. It seems to be limp and she teter todders while she stands, when she can. I removed her from the other 2 that she was with to inspect her. At first I thought she was just too cold and may have frostbite but she doesn't and she doesnt seem to have any wheezing or breathing problems. Then I thought she might be egg bound but I do not think she is as she is pooping and I don't think I can feel an egg in there. Then I read she might be vitamin B deficient or have Mareks disease. Or maybe she just sprained something while jumping down or up the coop ramp. I have read so many blog posts and websites, I just don't know what to do as its hard to say what is wrong with her. I have her in a box inside the house since yesterday afternoon with some layer food w/oyster shells and some electrolyte water. I gave her a couple warm baths as well. I can't keep her inside for long and I don't know if I should put her back in the coop. Its a catawba style coop. I also really just needed to vent and am hoping someone has some expert advice. Its so sad to see her like this. Any advice?

2. PeepersMama

PeepersMama Living in a galaxy far, far away...