Limping Bantam (Teresa)

psamatt

In the Brooder
Sep 1, 2021
Hi, we have had 5 bantams since they were 5 or so weeks old, they are now 22 or so weeks and one of them has developed a limp where she brings her leg to her body, stalls it there, and then brings it down again, I've tried to do some Googling but unsure as to the exact issue and was hoping someone could help with a diagnosis?

I have uploaded a video to Youtube to show the problem we are facing, its very quick (3 secs) but hopefully you can see at the start of the video her holding her foot up then oddly placing it down, she does the same with her other foot but not as bad

ive checked her foot for Bumblefoot and that doesnt appear to be the problem, she also is very strong, still eating well and moves around occasionally but sits down more than she used to

Last edited:
I think that is called marching, and it might be a neurological symptom, but I am not an expert. Is she acting normally and does she seem to see treats on the ground in front of her? Do you know if she was vaccinated for Mareks disease, or was she raised by a breeder? I might try some human softgels of vitamin E400 IU once a day.

she was raised by a breeder for the first 5 weeks on medicated chick crumb and then we continued her on that, im not sure if she was vaccinated, probably not if she was on medicated crumb?
She does see what's in front of her, she knows her surroundings and still eats, acting normally other than the issue with her leg and sitting down more than usual

I would continue to observe her walking. It might be something neurological, possibly an injury, but Mareks disease seems a bit possible. Hopefully, it is something less serious, but time will tell. Let us know how she is doing in a day or two. Of course check her leg for any green bruising, redness, or swelling, just in case she has hurt it. Besides giving some vitamin E, I would consider giving B complex as well, 1/4 tablet daily crushed into food.