Limping chicken - what could be wrong

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Bobinasmom, Nov 24, 2010.

1. Bobinasmom

Bobinasmom Out Of The Brooder

Nov 24, 2010
    Hi! I'm new to BYC and want to ask your advice. One of my chickens is limping and standing a lot one one leg. At first I thought it was due to a scatch on the side of her foot, but after having treated it with antibacterial cream + bandaids for 4 days the wounds seems to be healed but the chicken is still limping. I am concerned about bumblefoot, but don't see any black/brown scab. It seems to me that the underside of that foot is slightly swollen and a little warm to the touch, but that may be because it's all the time tucked into her chest. Any ideas? I have been isolating her in a guinea pig case in the coop for the last 3 days just in case it's contagious, but I see no improvement. Thanks for any suggestions you can give

2. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    The swelling and warmth are signs of infection inside. There could still be something in there, a thorn or something, or it could simply still be infected.

3. Bobinasmom

Nov 24, 2010
    Thanks! But should I worry about bumblefoot at this stage and keep her isolated from the others? She clearly wants to be with the rest.

4. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    She is not contagious. You'll have to balance the threat to the foot, including that they could peck at it, with the benefits of being with the flock, as they like being. If you keep her out long, she'll have to go through that bottom of the pecking order thing, too.

It's hard to answer about the foot even with your description. Could be it needs reopening, could be she needs some penicillin. Could be she just needs some time. Chickens are pretty good at healing.

5. johny

johny Chillin' With My Peeps

May 22, 2010