Limping chicken

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by fabfarm, Oct 21, 2013.

1. fabfarm

fabfarm Out Of The Brooder

Oct 20, 2013
    virginia
    Hi I'm new to byc and my 4month old polish silkie is limping can anyone help me!!:(

2. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    My first guess would be a vitamin deficiency. Silkies, in particular, seem to be vulnerable to vitamin deficiencies. I'd get her started on some vitamins. You can either get special poultry vitamins, or use Poly Vi Sol infant vitamins

Another possiblity would be Marek's Disease, as it often first appears as limping. Marek's eventually causes paralysis of the wings and legs.Do you know if she was vaccinated as a chick?

Check the bottoms of her feet, too. Are there any scabs, or are they swollen? This could indicate bumblefoot. Does she act like she's in pain? Any reddness or swelling of the leg?

It might be that it is just a sprain or strain. I'd isolate her from any other birds and keep her in a cage/pen with some deep bedding and no roost. See if just some rest helps her heal.

Last edited: Oct 21, 2013
  3. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    [​IMG] Glad you joined us! I'm sorry to hear about your limping chicken.

I would check your bird's legs for swelling, injury, broken bones, and overly raised scales (that would be a sign of scaly leg mite). Also, check the bottom of the foot for signs of bumblefoot (an infection in the foot pad of poultry caused by bacteria)--some signs include swelling, a black scab, and pus. Treatment can include soaking in an Epsom salt solution, surgical removal of the pus core, or the injection of antibiotics (like Penicillin) into the foot. Lastly, I'd check to see if your hen can move her feet properly (isn't paralyzed or anything). Push your finger into the bottom of the foot; she should curl her toes or resist.

4. BantamFan4Life