little duck missing feather around eyes and some crust!!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by fmizula, Jan 30, 2012.

1. fmizula

fmizula Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 8, 2011
    i am new to duckies and havent seen or read anything about this. he is young and male. he was missing some around his eyes when i got him home and i noticed it. now, he is loseing more feathers and also there is some crusty parts on the skin exposed areas. there is no blood or redness. he is not missing feather any where else. he seems fine in all other ways. he takes a bath in a small pond i have for the ducks that i change the water daily and some times twice as it freezes regulary. i was thinking possibly mites? i didnt see anything crawling on him. not sure what to do. dosent seem like a molt... dont know

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    Can you post a picture that would help us alot. Thanks. Also age ,feed and other things about where he sleeps etc.

Last edited: Jan 30, 2012
  3. fmizula

Aug 8, 2011
    not sure how to actually put the pic on here... i thought it was the embed option. oh well. this was two weeks ago when we got him. not sure how old he is. bought from a breeder at a poultry show. he eats chicken food, dumour layer pellets. he lives with the chickens in their coop along with two muscovy ducks. he sleeps in a nesting box or on the floor usualy.

trying to upload some i just took a few mins ago and will get on here soon.

4. fmizula

Aug 8, 2011
    [​IMG]

5. fmizula

Aug 8, 2011
    [​IMG]

6. Miss Lydia

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    Here is a link to lice and mites. One thing i will say is I am very watchful of my flock and anything looks out of the ordinary