Little Giant Circulated Air Egg Incubator w turner

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by JohnsonHomestead, May 15, 2011.

1. JohnsonHomestead

JohnsonHomestead Out Of The Brooder

May 15, 2011
    Out in the sticks
    My wife and I were thinking about an incubator, just wanted some first hand comments on the
    Little Giant Circulated Air Egg Incubator with the turner, how hard to tune temp and humidy? Turner reliable? Hatch rate, that sorta stuff.

How well does it stand the test of time?

We are looking to hatch our own eggs for freezer birds, add to layers, and maybe some to sell, so as many as 6 times a year wouldn't be out of the question.

2. chicksntexas

chicksntexas Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 30, 2011
    Magnolia, TX
    I'm new at this and waiting on my first hatch 5/21...lockdown Wednesday. LG w/turner and fan...so I'll know more this weekend!! But so far, it's worked out pretty good. Temps have been relatively stable, had a few short spikes due to the afternoon warming in the rooms. Humidity goes down quicker with the fan, but easy to add water with a straw through the vent. Turner has worked like a charm! So far, day 16, I have 7 of 7 still moving around! [​IMG]

3. bwmichaud

bwmichaud Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2010
    I have the Little Giant with the turner and a homemade fan I made from a computer power supply. I hatched a dozen mixed breed eggs last fall and I got 8 healthy chicks. The other 4 did not hatch. I watched the temp and it was pretty consistent. I didn't have a hygrometer to measure humidity but I made sure there was always water in the tray.

4. callahanfarmgirl

callahanfarmgirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 4, 2011
    Callahan
    I have the Little Giant incubator with the auto turner, forced air, & hygrometer. I have only used it once but I hatched 37 out of 40 fertile eggs. It was my first time hatching so I was very happy with those results.

5. JohnsonHomestead

May 15, 2011
    Out in the sticks