Little Giant Incubator

Momma 2 silkies

Songster
7 Years
May 26, 2012
Can anyone tell me if this is any good? I am new to incubating and was going to get the little giant still air incubator but need to know if it is any good? I don't plan to hatch a lot, I don't have the room for many but I would like to see what I get from my flock. How long should I have it up and running before I add any eggs to it? My silkies have just started laying again since they stopped when we got our first snow. I have no clue how to do this and thought I would ask here.

Yes its decent for the amt.of.money. weve had one for about a yr. and currently have our third hatch in there. our first chick hatched about ten mins. ago. all of our hatches have had over 50% hatch rate. try and get the fan. we turn them by hand but getting ready to buy a turner. good luck. and have fun.

There is a thread "Little Giant Incubator Tricks" here on BYC. Not terribly long and will give you a good idea of how they have worked for others. We all have different situations we have to work around. The biggest with the LG is a stable room temperature for the most part.

My second hatch goes into lockdown tomorrow. 16 of the 22 that were fertile, come on babies.

I have one. Watch your temps the first night you put your eggs in there. I had mine going 48 hours and when I woke up the morning after I set my eggs, the temp had jumped to 108.

I only set 11 eggs & day 21 was this past Thursday. 9 hatched and are beautiful. I did struggle with humidity, but I have a very dry house, so I think that's why. Make sure you buy a couple thermometers and hygrometers - the 9200 comes with nothing. I don't see why it wouldn't work for you, though. It's not the best out there, but if you're only going to occasionally incubate, it should suit your needs.

Good luck when you decide it's time. :)