LIttle Giant Still Air Incubator

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by tiffanyh, May 3, 2007.

1. tiffanyh

tiffanyh Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 8, 2007
    Connecticut
    Hi all!
    I just had a question about the temp in my still air incubator. I have a thermometer that came with it, it is reading 99.5 -very stable. It is sitting on a "shelf" that came with the unit. It lies about the height of teh top of the eggs. I also have a thermometer lying in the floor of the incubator. It is reading a few degree lower, around 95 or so. Should I increase the temp a bit so that the "bottom" thermometer reads 99? That means the top of the eggs would probably be at 103 or so...what so you all think?

Thanks!

2. justusnak

justusnak Flock Mistress

From what I have read so far, the top of the eggs temp is what you need to watch. But in a still air, I thought it should be around 101...102?? Not sure. Maybe someone knows more than I do ..... this is my first year hatching in a bator. Good luck!

3. fowlweatherfriends

fowlweatherfriends Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 14, 2007
    The Sunny South
    Hello,
    Yes, the still air LG bator needs to be 101 degrees for a hatch. I had 2 thermometers, one was thermo-hygrometer (for humidity). Having the humidity reader is EXTREMELY important. Keep humidity around 40 to 50% until day 18. At day 18 increase humidity to 70%. You will fill water trays and may need to put in a very wet sock or 2 to increase the humidity.