Livestock guardian dogs

Pics

justmom

Hatching
7 Years
Jan 9, 2013
Northwestern Missouri
Newbie here. Anybody have any experience with livestock guardian dogs for their birds? Have a huge problem in the springtime with Raccoons and Foxes and year-round with straying dogs. Wondering if a Great Pyrenees would be the way to go.

We breed Newfoundlands so of course I am partial to them. But they are in the family with Great Pyrenees. With that being said Lucky will chase off everything and when the coyotes see him coming, they turn around and run. They are also very good at spotting rattlesnakes around here. This summer we were working in our pumpkin field and my little girls were playing by us. Lucky spotted a skunk out of nowhere and had it taken care of before I could even gather the girls and get them to the pickup.

I am currently raising a Pyr to protect the birds. He is only 4 months though. We got him at 8 weeks and he is inside with us for now and will be for a while since he's just a baby. He does bird chores with me. I have chickens and ducks, had geese which did not like him and he was very hesitant about but they went to freezer camp so no problem.

He was raised with goats and his littermates and parents with very little human contact for the first 8 weeks. He'd never even been picked up before we got him. He is great. Has been basically housebroken since bringing him home. He completely ignores the birds. I even have 13 ducklings that go running about at no reason and he looks and moves on.

I always (almost) keep an eye on him around the birds. He tried to "play" with one of the chickens, once. He went into a play bow and I promptly corrected him. I did accidentally lock him in the birds yard the other morning, didn't realize he was there. He just walks around but he loves their feed and eats their poop.
sickbyc.gif