1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

lockdown and i already lost one :(

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by vintage00gypsy, Jul 19, 2011.

1. vintage00gypsy

vintage00gypsy Out Of The Brooder

Jun 22, 2011
    Itasca County Minnesota
    It's my first time. I have (had) 5 guinea and 3 barred rock that made it this far. I took the tray out and was moving my eggs back in when... omg... this one guinea had already pipped... and on the small end. poor dear. i watched it for a couple hours, but nothing but small movements. no sounds. so, i read a lot. and read more. and took the shell off where it was cracked. the membrane was very white and dry. the chick was wiggling but very weak and no noise. i read more. i watched longer. i moistened but not near the beak.

i waited. guinea wrapped in dampness, snug n warm. no movement. nothing. nothing. no response to touch. i knew it was too late for it but tried anyway. pulled back the membrane by it's nose, wiggled it lightly... dead.

[​IMG] it's wrapped in wet warminess until my husband can figure out what to do with it. i am glad my kids were in bed. we lost 3/4 of our first incubator hatch and personally, I don't think the three chickens left in there are even alive. We got this wicked humidity the last week or so and the temps and humidity have been all colors of messed up. The four other guinea looked great the last time we candled... so let's just hope they can pull through.

how in the world does all that bird fit in that teeny shell????

2. mathesonfarm

mathesonfarm Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 17, 2010
    New York