Lockdown question???

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by jwatts, Mar 20, 2012.

1. jwatts

jwatts Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 16, 2011
    I am new to incubating and I have a question regarding the lockdown procedure. On the last three days of lockdown do I just leave those who hatched and wait for the others or do I remove them as soon as they hatch? I hear people saying don't open the incu they will get shrink wrapped. Can someone enlighten me on this matter? Thank you

2. bobbi-j

bobbi-j Chicken Obsessed

Mar 15, 2010
    On the MN prairie.
    They can stay in the incubator for awhile after they hatch. I've been guilty of opening it too often to take them out in the past, and then the later ones don't have a chance to hatch. What happens is, every time you open the incubator you let out valuable humidity and then the membrane of those who are still in the hatching process gets dried out and sticks to the chick. This prevents the chick from being able to work its way out of the egg. I've left chicks in the incubator for several hours. Some will leave them for up to 24 hours. I think alot depends on the type of incubator you have. Good luck and keep us posted on how it goes! (Mine aren't due to hatch until next weekend, but all the pictures and posts on chicks hatching makes me impatient - I wish it was this week!)

3. jwatts

jwatts Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 16, 2011
    Ok so I should prob leave everything go for about 24 hrs. What about when you have to turn eggs throughout the 18 days. I assume every time you open the lid to turn them the temp will drop. Will this bother them?

4. bobbi-j

bobbi-j Chicken Obsessed

Mar 15, 2010
    On the MN prairie.