Lockdown tommorrow-Any tips

Discussion in 'Quail' started by NicoleRook, Mar 20, 2013.

1. NicoleRook

NicoleRook Out Of The Brooder

Mar 9, 2013
    Lake Community, NJ
    This is my first time doing this so I'm looking for some guidance from some veterans. First the eggs are on an egg turner in an incubator will a fan, is it ok to move them into a lockdown incubator that has still air? Recomendations of heat/humidity? Also any first aid items and things to have on hand. My husband is putting the brooder together tommorow night. We have a plastic storage tub, heat lamp w/ dimmer....What type of brooder did you have on hand? Do you show them how to eat/drink? Any surprises I should be prepared for. Tommorow is day 14-these are Japanese Quail, what is the max time I should wait for hatching?

Thanks all, Crossing my fingers and listening to the peeps.

2. NicoleRook

Mar 9, 2013
    Lake Community, NJ
    Also may have found a pipped egg! What do I do, should I take it off egg turner?

3. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Keep the temp the same all the way thru complete hatch. Humidity level should be raised by 10% more than you incubated with. If you have to, add wet sponges.

By lock down and all the way thru hatch, it is VERY important for the chicks to receive fresh air and a lot of it. They need a ton of oxygen at this time. So I do not recommend moving these eggs into any still air incubator. If you are worried about the egg turners, either remove them, or cover them with some non slip liner of some sort and place the eggs on top.