lockdown tonight-- oct 19 hatch date

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by daddy_roo, Sep 28, 2011.

1. daddy_roo

daddy_roo Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 6, 2011
    Kentucky
    My incubator has held 99.5 all day. I started cleaning it and sanitizing it yesterday about 5am and after sanitizing it, it sat outside untill about 12:00 noon. I used a cap full of bleach in a 20 oz spray bottle to sanitize so it was very weak. I pluged it in and it has held 99.5 ever since. Is this the right temp for day one?

2. mstricer

mstricer Overrun With Chickens

Feb 12, 2009
    Ohio
    I think you need to change your topic to Setting tonight. Lock down would be in 18 days [​IMG]

3. Jloeffler

Jloeffler Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 22, 2011
    Northeast NC
    Yes for chickens and quail. Not sure about other poultry. Not sure about bleach though as eggs are pourous and fumes could pass through the shell. However, I'm a newbie so hopefully someone else will chime in. But I do know temp is correct for the whole time. Temp is constant, humidity changes at the end. Good luck!!

4. Jloeffler

Jul 22, 2011
    Northeast NC
    Quote:X2

5. daddy_roo

Sep 6, 2011
    Kentucky
    I apologize for the mis-teminology, I assumed lockdown was the start. But Yes I am starting my incubation session tonight. Thank you for clearing the differance up.

6. mstricer

mstricer Overrun With Chickens

Feb 12, 2009
    Ohio
    Its okay we all do it. I think you should be fine with how your doing it at least your not in my boat, I have a Silkie trying to hatch in turner on day 18 and my hatcher isn't ready due to my stupidity.
    Good Luck Michele

7. nurse_turtle

nurse_turtle Chillin' With My Peeps

May 28, 2011
    Foothills of NC
    But you do know about lockdown at day 18 and all the specifics regarding those last few days?

8. daddy_roo

Sep 6, 2011
    Kentucky