Lockdown?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by youngenbreeder, Jul 31, 2011.

1. youngenbreeder

youngenbreeder Out Of The Brooder

Feb 3, 2011
    I was wanting to know if i need to raise the netting on the bottom of the bator for lockdown or put the eggs in a carton. it said at the bottom of this sight

https://www.backyardchickens.com/we...et&PHPSESSID=6a9ef75252d048761e502795e39964f4

that i need to raise the level of the netting or put them in cartons to help keep the yolk temp stable. is this true? this is my first time hatching and i am using a hovabator 1602N with turner and am doing a "dry hatch" keeping the humidty at 30-40% and am aiming for 60-70% for lockdown. i am at day 13 now and want to get everything right. still 25 eggs in the bator after candling day 7 and 12. Can i just take the turner out, lay some paper towl on the netting, and lay the eggs on the netting? thanks, replys much appreciated.

2. DixieChickie

DixieChickie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 24, 2011
    VA
    The reason for raising the screen is to raise the eggs so that the yolk is at the same level, as it was in the turner. When just laying them without cartons or raising the screen they are in a cooler "layer" of air. Due to the thermal layering.

3. chikinwing

chikinwing Out Of The Brooder

Jun 30, 2009
    I am not certain about dry hatching being that much different at lockdown than the regular way except for humidity. But, yes remove the egg turner put down paper towels or some people use a mesh shelf liner that is a little rubbery. I have also heard of people using cheese cloth. Lay the eggs on their side and try to make the small end of the egg point downward. From there you make certain your humidity is where you need it to be and don't open it back up until after all hatching, unless there is a major problem. I hope this helps. Happy Hatching [​IMG]

4. youngenbreeder

Feb 3, 2011
    so DixieChickie and chikinwing would you raise the wire mesh?