Lonely Chicken?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Lottie Gooch, Aug 13, 2017.

1. Lottie Gooch

Lottie Gooch Out Of The Brooder

Aug 13, 2017
    I'm new to having chickens (long time dream come true). I had a tight knit group of 4, that I got when they were about 6 weeks old. 2 started crowing (about a week ago), and we found the roos another home. My goal was to trade the 2 Roos for 2 hens, but I came home with 5 hens (I hear that's pretty solid chicken math) who were about the same age as the 2 I still had at home. The new hens had feathers plucked out of their backs, feces in their feathers, and one sweet one has a broken toe. I cleaned them up, and 4 of the 5 (a mix between orphington s and Easter Eggers) are assimilating well, though pecked and chased here and there by the original 2 (a buckeye and a white & black brahma). But, the girl with the broken toe (a white barred rock) is pecked at the most, and stays alone in the coop or run while the others free range. She sometimes has a buddy, but rarely. She is so tame....I wondering if she's in shock, or ill, or, forgive the newbieness, but...lonely? I don't want to interfere in the pecking order, but she breaks my heart. Any advice for helping her socialize/assimilate? Or do I need to have a glass of wine and stop hovering over the ladies?

Attached Files:

rjohns39 likes this.
  2. Robin37

Robin37 Overrun With Chickens

Mar 27, 2017
    Lavonia GA
    My Coop
    Hello Lottie. :welcome.Those are some nice looking chickens :)

rjohns39 likes this.
  3. Lottie Gooch

Aug 13, 2017
    Thank you @Robin37 !! I'm already in love with them!

rjohns39 and Robin37 like this.
  4. Robin37

Robin37 Overrun With Chickens

Mar 27, 2017
    Lavonia GA
    My Coop
    You are welcome :) establishing a pecking order shouldn't make the barred rock isolate herself. Perhaps she was not raised with the others. How much do you know about the 5 chickens before you got them.

rjohns39 and Lottie Gooch like this.