Lonely Toulouse Gander...can I get him a new girlfriend?

Discussion in 'Geese' started by DawnB, Sep 27, 2012.

1. DawnB

DawnB Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi all. I'm EXTREMELY new to this whole chicken/duck/goose thing. We got our guys and ladies just a few days ago in a rescue. I have mostly chickens and a pair of muscovy ducks and one lonely Toulouse gander.

He seems to be very well tempered and I was told that his was originally purchased as a male/female pair. The female died a while ago. I thought I had read that they mate for life, so I'm not sure if I can introduce a new goose to him or not. With the crew we've got, one more wouldn't be a big deal. Probably wouldn't happen until at least spring though.

But just wanted to check with others more experienced. Do I get him a girlfriend or leave well enough alone? Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!
    Dawn

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    [​IMG] and sounds wonderful that you have rescued these animals. I would vote for getting him a goose. They really need the companionship of their own kind and having a female would make his life happy again.

3. Goose and Fig

Goose and Fig Grateful Geese

Apr 19, 2009
    Fall Creek Falls TN
    Agreed. Make sure its a girl though. Male-female and female-female pairs are great to have, but I have tried keeping 2 bonded males together and all they do is yell and scream about who gets to be the boy.

Congrats on your new additions! Rescues are a great way to go.

4. Miss Lydia

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    [​IMG]

5. aoxa

aoxa Overrun With Chickens

LOL

:lau

Can't they take turns? :lol:

6. DawnB

Thanks everyone...just wanted to make sure that he'd take interest in a new female.

7. Iain Utah

Iain Utah Overrun With Chickens

Dec 17, 2011