Lonely! What's a hen to do? — SE/PA

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by NortonKittyOllie, Sep 12, 2009.

1. NortonKittyOllie

NortonKittyOllie Out Of The Brooder

Sep 9, 2009
    Philadelphia
    HI all,

I'm new to this whole BYC thing and raised my first set of chicks (6) this past summer. Since the babies were given to me by a co-worker, neither of us could sex the chicks, so I've had to wait until they either crowed or laid an egg. My luck, 5 of the 6 ended up crowing their heads off 3 weekends ago (they were sooooo proud of themselves). So for right now they are on a "foster farm" until I can find them "forever homes". (Anyone interested???)

In the meantime, I have one very lonely and depressed hen. I spend as much time with her as a can (but I work 9-5). And I will be getting new FEMALE day-old chicks soon. (don't worry, they will not be put together until they are big enough... however I might try short supervised introductions when they are a couple weeks old).

My question — if I hadn't seen it with my own eyes I wouldn't have believed it... but am I wrong to think that "Little" is depressed and lonely??? Any other suggestions on how to help her out?

Oh, and... no egg from my 21-week-old Ameracaunca hen yet. Should I be worried? Could her "depression" be to blame?

2. wildorchid053

wildorchid053 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 12, 2009
    syracuse area, ny
    they lay really late.. wonder if she saw the little chicks if she would take to them.. like motherly? you might put them next to each other in diff. cages and see how it goes..if she gets aggresive then move her away.. but if they can't get to each other they should be fine and it would be company for her

3. NortonKittyOllie

NortonKittyOllie Out Of The Brooder

Sep 9, 2009
    Philadelphia
    Thanks! That's an idea!

4. TreeHugger

TreeHugger Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 7, 2008