Loner Chick

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by weimlikeschicks, Mar 21, 2012.

1. weimlikeschicks

weimlikeschicks Out Of The Brooder

Mar 21, 2012
    Hi, everyone. Love this site, and so glad I found it.

I am raising chicks (this is my first time doing it alone and as an adult), with the goal of establishing a flock of mostly laying hens.
    I currently have three pullets, two Ameraucanas and a Rhode Island Red, about a week and a half old. I have ten Buff Orpingtons reserved from a local farmer that I'll be picking up this evening. They are two or three days younger, and straight run.

My question is about one of the Ameraucana pullets. It seems like the Red and the other Ameraucana are good friends, while the third chick is somewhat of a loner. She isn't quite as active as the others, sleeps more, and seems to be the odd man out. She doesn't look injured, her vent is clear, she eats and drinks, just is no where near as active as the other two.

I really appreciate any advice, even if it's just to reassure me that she is ok just docile, or if I have to cull her. Thanks!

2. aoxa

aoxa Overrun With Chickens

They are still young, so unless she looks ill to you, let her be. I have three mottled houdans that were not nearly as active as the others. Sometimes it's just their individual personalities. I have older chickens just like that. As long as they interact somewhat, I wouldn't worry about it yet.

Any signs of blindness at all? The older hen I find is a loner and quiet is blind in one eye, so she can't keep up as fast as the others.

3. weimlikeschicks

Mar 21, 2012
    Thanks for the reply!

I do honestly think that she is probably alright, just more laid back than the others. The Red and the other Ameraucana just seem uninterested in really being around her so I started thinking maybe they were trying to tell me something. Over thinking for sure, but you guys know how it is when you bring them home for the first time.