Long winded post about keeping meat birds. I'm a newbie PICS UPDATED

r4eboxer

Crooked Creek Poultry
8 Years
Sep 20, 2011
Fairmont
I have NEVER processed any poultry, but I have land and perfect areas to raise Geese, Ducks, Turkeys and Chickens for meat. I have seen that a Christmas Goose that weighs 10-13 lbs is going for as much as 200.00 per bird at an online site. I have geese that can hatch out the goslings, have turkeys on the way, and have ducks that can hatch out ducklings etc already.

I am wondering what the food safety laws are that govern the sale of farm poultry. I have 20 plus years of food safety/restaurant management experience but no butcher experience. Do I need to have a large walk in fridge/freezer? I am going to assume it varies state by state but I'd like some info from those of you who have BTDT.

I am following some of the threads here about brining chickens to market weight but I'm wondering if anyone here does it with geese and/or turkeys. I've got some pics of areas around the property that I am hoping are suitable for geese and ducks.

I am planning on purchasing an automatic plucker, I am leaning toward the old fashioned chopping block method for culling.

I don’t know if I can do this, or if I have the time but I definitely want to at least fill my families needs with my own home grown food.

Here are photos where I hope to put my meat geese. I plan to run a fence around the wooded area, the area where you can see my dogs and the creek down below where the beach area is for the geese. I am hoping there will be enough grass for them to free range as I want to market them as grass fed/ free range. What do you all think about this area? Is it sufficient?

107179_pyrenees_029.jpg

107179_pyrenees_030.jpg

107179_pyrenees_032.jpg
This is the area I hope to keep the turkeys in. It is to the left of where the geese will be. No water.
107179_pyrenees_033.jpg

Last edited:
It looks very nice.