looking after chicks really young chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by skippy56, Aug 22, 2008.

1. skippy56

skippy56 New Egg

Aug 18, 2008
    Hi there, I am fairly new to chooks. I bought 6 hens amost 2 years ago and it is about time to buy some more. I bought Australorp and Barnevelder hens as they are not broody and I just wanted eggs (and beautiful pets of course). The hens were 10 weeks old when I picked them up and they were too old to be completely comfortable with me. They run around my feet but run like crazy if I need to catch them. So this time around I would like to buy some younger chicks. However, I can't put a heat lamp in their coop as it too far away from a power source and I can't purchase eggs as my girls won't sit on the eggs. Any help would be very much appreciated. I'm sorry if my question is really stupid.[​IMG]

2. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop
    That's why I have a very, very LONG extension cord that goes to my coop.

I'm on the waiting list for our electrician to come put power into my coop.... we saw him at the grocery store and he hopes it can happen by mid October!

3. cmom

cmom Hilltop Farm

Nov 18, 2007
    Florida
    My Coop
    If you are starting out with baby chicks you will probably want to put them in a brooder. which you can make out of plastic tubs, kiddie pool, cardbord box, laundry basket. I bought a small mesh wire brooder. and put it in my barn with a 60 watt bulb on top.I didn't introduce them to the coop ontil they were approx 6 weeks old. I will try to add a picture

4. cmom

cmom Hilltop Farm

Nov 18, 2007
    Florida
    My Coop
    [​IMG][​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 22, 2008
  5. cmom

cmom Hilltop Farm

Nov 18, 2007
    Florida
    My Coop