Looking for a new camera...

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by Chickerdoodle13, Jun 29, 2008.

1. Chickerdoodle13

Chickerdoodle13 The truth is out there...

Mar 5, 2007
    Phoenix, AZ
    ...and I need some advice! I have finally saved up enough money to get a new camera. I have been using a sony cybershot for the past four years, but now I want something more serious, and with a much better zoom.

I was looking at the canon rebel, but my uncle (who works in a camera shop) showed me an Olympus with an 18X zoom. I got to play around with it for a little while and it seemed pretty nice, but I want some advice from you guys. What would you recommend?

I want something that will take nice animal photographs, especially of birds (bird watching). I would also like something with a good macro. Having a good zoom is very important to me.

I have about $400 to spend, so what do you recommend? Also, has anyone tried B&H? I have heard good things about that company.

2. ChickenToes

ChickenToes Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2008
    NE Wisconsin
    A Canon Rebel would be my choice, but most serious photographers use Nikons.

3. punkin

punkin Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 18, 2008
    East Tennessee
    I use a Cannon Digital Rebel. I take lots of different photos (macro, portrait, action, nature) I have never been disappointed with it.

4. Chickerdoodle13

Chickerdoodle13 The truth is out there...

Mar 5, 2007
    Phoenix, AZ
    I did really like the rebel when I played around with it. The only thing that tears me between the olympus and the canon is that the olympus has an 18X zoom, which is a little more than the rebel. However, the canon rebel was almost $100 less than the olympus, which is also a plus. I liked the macro on both of them though.

Punkin, do you have any example photos I could look at? I would love to be able to compare photographs!

5. CityGirlintheCountry

CityGirlintheCountry Green Eggs and Hamlet

Jul 7, 2007
    Middle TN