looking for another egg color

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by Pburg, Nov 11, 2014.

1. Pburg

Pburg New Egg

Nov 11, 2014
    How do I find chickens that will lay different color eggs than medium brown and pale green?

I am a photographer and have a photo project in mind that uses many eggs of all various colors. I am having so much fun collecting these eggs and have all the colors I can find within an hours' drive time from here. However, I am finding only shades of medium brown and pale green. I need more variety for the shoot I want to do.

I have a friend who raises her own chickens and I told her I would purchase a chicken or two for her if they have different color eggs than what I have collected. Obviously, I know nothing about chickens..... yet. :) But I have seen some amazing photos here and there is such a wealth of info on this site that I am hoping that you can help me out on where to go from here. I can't have chickens where I live, but I hope to be a help to those nearby with chickens and also raise some awareness of other "city slickers" about how cool chicken eggs can be when you get away from the 12 white eggs in the grocery store carton.

How can I get some of those other awesome colors?
    Is it better to buy the chicken? Can you even buy eggs? (don't care if the eggs fertile or not)

Thanks!
    Cheryl

2. Percheron chick

Percheron chick Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2013
    Boulder, Colorado
    Where are you?