Looking for basic info about ducks

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by rosiesgirls, Jan 31, 2017.

1. rosiesgirls

rosiesgirls Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 27, 2014
    Broadalbin/Perth
    I have been keeping chickens for a couple of years now and am interested in getting some ducks. My primary interest in ducks is to forage for bugs. We have an organic market garden a that's about an acre in size and would love for them to eat some of the pests, along with the ticks we have in the back, near the 3 ponds that the ducks would have access to. BUT, since I've never had ducks, I have a lot of questions about keeping them before I jump in. I'd appreciate any and all advice folks can give me.

My questions:
    1. Which breeds are the best foragers? If they have free access to our garden, will they dig it up like the chickens do?
    2. Are there breeds that won't fly off with the wild ducks that visit our ponds, and should I be concerned about them interacting? (I know I can clip their wings, but I'd rather not have to do that if I can avoid it.)
    3. Of the foraging breeds, which will also provide me with some eggs?
    4. I am absolutely in LOVE with Call Ducks...they're so stinkin' CUTE! How good are they at foraging and how big are their eggs?
    5. Can I mix Calls in with larger breeds?
    6. What do I need to provide in terms of housing? I plan on allowing them to free range during the day with free access to the ponds, so I know I don't need to provide a pool (except maybe in winter??) but our property also backs onto wild land that has coyotes, so I need to have them come in at night. Mainly, how much square footage per duck do I need/want?
    7. How much feed can I expect to have to supplement (or is it possible to tell me that?) I know I'll need more in the winter as we're in upstate NY and get snow, but am just looking for a general idea. Also, are we talking pellets or grain?