Looking for breed/showing info

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by NewToFarming, Nov 9, 2010.

1. NewToFarming

NewToFarming Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 28, 2010
    Millersburg, PA
    I am new to chickens & the silkie world and would love to start breeding & showing silkies.
    I would like to attend shows to go look and learn, but I guess my first question would be, where do you go to find out where and when are the shows?
    Also, are there books or online resources on how to get started? I am not sure if there are shows near me during the winter months so I guess if there aren’t any until spring, I could spend my winter reading up on them! [​IMG] I would prefer something that would show pictures or examples of a good quality silkie. I learn better by visually seeing something. For example, reading the standard on a silkie comb, I can kind of picture what it should be like but it would be better for me to actually see one, if you know what I mean. That is why I would like to start attending shows, etc.
    Any ideas on where to get started?

Thanks!!!! [​IMG]

2. NYREDS

NYREDS Overrun With Chickens

Jan 14, 2008
    The biggest poultry show in the country is in Columbus Ohio this coming weekend. Should be close to 7,000 birds.

3. NewToFarming

Apr 28, 2010
    Millersburg, PA
    Holy cow!
    Thanks! Ya know...my hubby just said yesterday we should do something this weekend....do you think he would go for it? [​IMG]
    Can you point me to if there are times etc or where to go find this info?
    Also, is there any place to find out about upcoming shows or is the best thing to keep an eye out for someone mentioning it on this site?

4. silkieluver_07

silkieluver_07 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 31, 2008
    Pennsylvania